Member Spotlight

Issue September 2012 By Jennifer Rosinski

MBA Past President Richard P. Campbell named to ABA task force on the future of legal education

Massachusetts Bar Association immediate past President Richard P. Campbell has been named to an American Bar Association task force to review and make recommendations on the state of legal education and its responsiveness to the needs and opportunities of the legal market.

Campbell, chairman of Campbell Campbell Edwards & Conroy in Boston, last year created the MBA's Task Force on Law, the Economy and Underemployment. The 14-member task force in May released its report, "Beginning the Conversation," which explores the causes of and potential solutions for the underemployment of recent law school graduates in Massachusetts.

The Task Force on the Future of Legal Education consists of representatives from the judiciary, organized bar, legal education and legal practice. The task force is expected to continue its work during the next two ABA presidential terms and conclude in 2014.

Former Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court Chief Justice Margaret H. Marshall will also serve on the task force.

In addition to Campbell and Marshall, the task force members are:

  • Randall T. Shepard (chair), former chief justice, Indiana Supreme Court, and currently executive in residence at Indiana University's Public Policy Institute
  • Paulette Brown, Edwards Wildman Palmer LLP, Madison, N.J.
  • Ronald D. Castille, chief justice, Pennsylvania Supreme Court
  • Michael P. Downey, Armstrong Teasdale, St. Louis
  • Christine M. Durham, justice, Utah Supreme Court
  • Joseph D. Harbaugh, professor and dean emeritus, Nova Southeastern University Shepard Broad Law Center
  • Kevin R. Johnson, Enforcement and Litigation Division, National Credit Union Administration
  • Paula Littlewood, executive director, Washington State Bar Association
  • Thomas W. Lyons III, Strauss Factor Laing & Lyons, Providence, R.I.
  • Leo Paul Martinez, professor, University of California Hastings College of the Law
  • Nancy Hardin Rogers, professor emeritus, Ohio State University College of Law
  • Maritza Sáenz Ryan, head of the Department of Law, U.S. Military Academy
  • James A. Wynn Jr., U.S. Court of Appeals, Fourth Circuit
  • Jolene A. Yee, associate general counsel, E. & J. Gallo Winery, Modesto, Calif.
  • David Yellen, dean, Loyola University Chicago School of Law
  • Jay Conison, dean, Valparaiso University Law School (task force reporter)

In addition, two representatives of the ABA's Young Lawyers Division will be named to the task force.