Bar Bulletin Board

Issue September 2010

AALAM hosts Summer Associates Lunch

On July 21, the Asian-American Lawyers Association of Massachusetts (AALAM) held its annual Summer Associates Lunch at Goodwin Procter LLP's Boston office. AALAM summer associates mingled with member attorneys from various types of practice after opening remarks by AALAM Vice President Emily K. Yu, of Edwards, Angell, Palmer & Dodge, and founding member and AALAM's first president, Paul W. Lee, of Goodwin Procter.

City Solicitors elect officers

The City Solicitors and Town Counsel Association - the bar association of attorneys who represent local governments and deal in local government issues - recently elected officers for the 2010-11 year. Elected were: President John Barrett, assistant city solicitor of Fitchburg, Vice President Stacey G. Bloom, associate general counsel, Department of Youth Services; and Executive Director James B. Lampke, town counsel of Hull.

Also elected to the executive committee were John D. Finnegan, special municipal and tax counsel; Margaret J. Hurley, assistant attorney general and director of the Municipal Law Unit; Heather W. Kingsbury, Petrini and Associates; Henry C. Luthin, first assistant corporation counsel, City of Boston; Robert S. Mangiaratti, Attleboro city solicitor; Gerald M. Moody, Milford town counsel; Immediate Past President Christopher J. Petrini, Framingham town counsel; Edward M. Pikula, Springfield city solicitor; Juliana Rice, Arlington town counsel; and Donald V. Rider, Marlborough city solicitor.
For more information on the CSTCA, go to or call (781) 749-9922.

MDLA officers begin new term

The Massachusetts Defense Lawyers Association's new officers recently began their 2010-11 term: President Holly M. Polglase, of Campbell, Campbell, Edwards & Conroy PC; President-elect Anthony J. Sbarra Jr., also of Campbell, Campbell, Edwards & Conroy PC; Secretary Michael P. Sams, of Kenney & Sams PC, Treasurer Brian O'Connell, of Zizik, Powers, O'Connell, Spaulding & Lamontagne PC; Immediate Past President Emily G. Coughlin, of Coughlin Betke LLP; and DRI State Liaison Christopher A. Kenney, of Kenney & Sams PC.