News from the Courts

Issue October 2010


SJC names new Court Management Advisory Board

The justices of the Supreme Judicial Court announced on Sept. 13 the members of the new Court Management Advisory Board.

The CMAB, according to Massachusetts General Law enacted in 2003, advises the SJC and the chief justice for administration and management "on all matters of judicial reform including, but not limited to, a proposal for the allocation of resources based on the demonstrated workload of each court."

The following have been appointed for a three-year term:

  • Hon. John J. Curran Jr, retired first justice of the Leominster District Court.
  • William J. Dailey Jr., Esq., senior partner at the Boston law firm Sloane and Walsh LLP, where he specializes in civil litigation.
  • Helen G. Drinan, president of Simmons College in Boston.
  • Ruth Ellen Fitch, Esq., president and chief executive officer of the Dimock Community Health Center.
  • John A. Grossman, undersecretary of Forensic Science and Technology for the Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security.
  • Glenn Mangurian, a business leader with 35 years of experience in industry and management consulting. He also serves as an executive-in-residence at the University of Massachusetts.
  • Ralph C. Martin II, Esq., managing partner of Bingham McCutchen's Boston office. He is the former district attorney for Suffolk County, serving in that position from 1992-2002.
  • Marilynne R. Ryan, Esq., an attorney at the Walpole law firm Ryan & Faenza, where she specializes in family law.
  • Harry Spence, Esq., a lecturer at the Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University. He was formerly the commissioner of the Massachusetts Department of Social Services, serving from 2001-07.

The following are ex officio members of the advisory board:

  • Edward R. Bedrosian Jr. , Esq., the first assistant attorney general for Massachusetts and serves as the designee of ex officio member Attorney General Martha Coakley.
  • Janet E. Fine, executive director of the Massachusetts Office of Victim Assistance.

"I am deeply grateful to these talented, experienced leaders who have agreed to serve on the Court Management Advisory Board," said SJC Chief Justice Margaret H. Marshall. "We appreciate their generous commitment to assisting the judiciary in its ongoing management reform efforts. Their external perspective and management expertise will help the courts continue to improve the administration of justice at every level of the court system."

The CMAB was recommended in the 2003 Report of the Visiting Committee on Management in the Courts, which proposed significant management reforms in the court system, including the development of staffing models and time standards.

The members of the original board, appointed in 2004, served two three-year terms, completing their tenure in June 2010. Under the provisions of the statute, they were not eligible for reappointment.

"I also want to thank the outgoing members of the inaugural board who provided valuable guidance under the leadership of attorney Michael Keating through the varied challenges of our initial reform efforts," Marshall said.

The outgoing board members who served two terms are: Leo V. Boyle, Linda Carlisle, Gene Dahmen, David Fubini, Robert Gittens, Michael Keating, Hon. Neil Lynch, Anne Margulies, Thomas O'Brien and Elizabeth Pattulo.