Nominating Committee issues report for 2006-07

Issue March 2006

Led by past President Kathleen O’Donnell, the Massachusetts Bar Association Nominating Committee has issued its report for the 2006-07 nominations for MBA officers and regional delegates. The committee is composed of O’Donnell, past presidents Marylin Beck, James Dilday, Richard Van Nostrand and Joseph Vrabel, and Marsha Kazarosian and Edwin Wallace.

Mark D. Mason automatically succeeds to the office of president on Sept. 1, 2006. Pursuant to Article VII, Section 2 of the MBA Bylaws, the committee has filed with MBA Secretary Denise Squillante the following list of other officers for 2006-07:

President-elect: David White-Lief, Boston

Vice president: Valerie Yarashus, Boston

Vice president: Denise Squillante, Fall River

Treasurer: Robert Lucas, Wakefield

Secretary: Edward McIntyre, Clinton

In addition, the following nominations were filed for the 2006-07 Regional Delegates:

Region One (Barnstable/Dukes/Nantucket): Paul Farrell

Region Two (Plymouth County): Sara Trezise

Region Three (Bristol County): Charlotte Glinka

Region Four (Berkshire/Franklin/Hampshire): Veronica Fenton

Region Five (Hampden County): Mary Jo Kennedy

Region Six (Essex County): Robert Holloway, Steven Wollman

Region Seven (Middlesex County): Michael Fee, Martha Rush O’Mara, Kimberly E. Winter

Region Eight (Norfolk County): Fern Frolin, Chris Milne

Region Nine (Suffolk County): John Affuso, Anthony Benedetti, Alice Burkin, John Carroll

Region Ten (Worcester County): James Van Buren, Elizabeth Morse

Other nominations may be submitted for officers by petition pursuant to Article VII, Section 2 of the MBA Bylaws. Questions should be directed to Marilyn J. Wellington, Esq., executive director of the MBA.

ARTICLE VII, Section 2 — Nominating Committee

Section 2. Nominating Committee. On or before January 20th in each year, the President and the Executive Director shall appoint a Nominating Committee of seven (7) members of the Association, consisting of the immediate past president, who shall act as chair, the two (2) most recent past presidents, should either or both agree to serve, two (2) members who have recently served on the House of Delegates and two (2) members who have not served on the House of Delegates within the past five (5) years. Not later than March 10th, the Nominating Committee shall file with the Secretary one or more nominations for President-Elect, two or more nominations for Vice President, one or more nominations for Treasurer, one or more nominations for Secretary and one or more nominations for each Regional Delegate. The President shall appoint a replacement for any person who chooses not to serve. The Nominating Committee may not nominate one of its own members to any such office nor may a member be nominated or run as a petition candidate for more than one office. The Nominating Committee’s report, together with a copy of this Article VII, shall be mailed to all members of the Association entitled to vote not later than March 25th. Other nominations may be made for Officers by a petition signed by at least one hundred (100) members of the Association entitled to vote for Officers, and for Regional delegates by a petition signed by at least fifty (50) members of the Association entitled to vote from the region. All petitions shall be filed with the Secretary not later than April 10th. A member’s region shall be where he or she maintains his or her principal office.