State Sen. Michael J. Rodrigues to receive MBA Legislator of the Year Award

Thursday, March 21, 2024
Article Picture
State Sen. Michael J. Rodrigues

The Massachusetts Bar Association will honor State Sen. Michael J. Rodrigues (D-First Bristol and Plymouth) with its Legislator of the Year Award at the MBA Annual Dinner on Thursday, May 2, at the Westin Boston Seaport District, 425 Summer St., Boston. The annual award recognizes state or federal legislators who have distinguished themselves in public service through outstanding contributions to the legal profession, courts and administration of justice.

As the state senator representing the First Bristol and Plymouth District, Rodrigues serves Fall River, Freetown, Lakeville, Rochester, Somerset, Swansea and Westport. He was elected to the Massachusetts State Senate in 2010 and was appointed chair of the Senate Committee on Ways and Means in February 2019, and presently serves in this capacity. Previously, he served as Senate majority whip, chair of the Senate Committee on Ethics, chair of the Joint Committee on Revenue, and chair of the Joint Committee on Children, Families, and Person with Disabilities. 

Prior to being elected to the Senate, Rodrigues served 14 years in the House of Representatives, where he chaired the Joint Committee on Commerce and Labor, the Joint Committee on Labor and Workforce Development, and the Joint Committee on Consumer Protection and Professional Licensure. 

“As the head of the Senate Ways and Means Committee, Chairman Rodrigues helped secure funding to improve courthouse technology, add additional judges for the Probate and Family Court, and increase the budget allocation for civil legal aid programs in Massachusetts,” said MBA Chief Legal Counsel and Chief Operating Officer Martin W. Healy. “The Massachusetts Bar Association is proud to honor Chairman Rodrigues for his leadership in championing critical court priorities that will improve access to justice in Massachusetts.”

Rodrigues graduated from the University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth with a Bachelor of Science in accounting. He has been the recipient of numerous awards from a variety of local charitable organizations and nonprofit advocacy groups. He was also recognized by the president of Portugal in 2010 with the Medal of Prince Henry the Navigator, which is the highest honor bestowed upon noncitizens of Portugal. Rodrigues is also president and treasurer of ABC Floor Covering in Westport. He resides in Westport with his wife Patti and enjoys spending time with his two adult children and grandchildren.

The MBA Annual Dinner will also the presentation of the MBA President's Award and the Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr. Scholarship, with more awards to be announced soon. Sean K. Ellis, director of the Exoneree Network of the New England Innocence Project, will deliver the keynote address.

Purchase individual tickets

Purchase a table

Register as a sponsor

To join our list of sponsors, select one of the options below using the Annual Dinner sponsorship form.

Champions Of Justice — $10,000

  • Up to two tables for 10
  • Full-page ad in dinner program
  • Firm name/logo projected at the dinner
  • Sponsorship-level recognition in Lawyers eJournal and displayed on MBA website
  • Additional prominent recognition at the dinner

Gold Sponsor — $5,000

  • Table for 10
  • Full-page advertisement in program
  • Logo/firm name projected at event and featured on MBA website
  • Additional prominent recognition at the event

Silver Sponsor — $2,5000

    • Table for 8
    • Half-page advertisement in program
    • Logo/firm name projected at event and featured on MBA website

    Bronze Sponsor — $1,750

    • Table for 8
    • Logo/firm name projected at event
    • Firm name included in program

    Thank you to our current sponsors:

    Champions of Justice:

    MBA Insurance Agency


    CNA Insurance
    Kenney & Sams PC
    Meehan, Boyle, Black & Bogdanow PC
    Morrison Mahoney LLP
    Nifty Marketing
    Peabody & Arnold LLP
    Rubin & Rudman LLP 
    Turco Legal


    Arrowood LLP 
    Breakstone, White & Gluck PC
    Conn Kavanaugh Rosenthal Peisch & Ford LLP
    Diller Law
    Eden Rafferty
    FAZ Forensics
    Freeman Mathis & Gary LLP
    Kazarosian Costello LLP
    Keches Law Group PC
    Massachusetts Bar Foundation
    McGrath & Kane
    Milne Law PC
    Robins Kaplan LLP
    Todd & Weld 
    UMass Law 


    Board of Bar Overseers
    Boston University
    Brick, Jones, McBrien & Hickey LLP
    Bristol County Bar Association
    Cetrulo LLP
    Denise Squillante PC
    Esdaile, Barrett, Jacobs & Mone
    Goulston & Storrs 

    Registration for this event is due by Friday, April 26, at noon.

    Questions regarding this event can be directed to MBA Membership and Marketing Manager Heather Robertson by email at To register over the phone, please call (617) 338-0561.