Hines honored, trustees elected at MBF 2023 Annual Meeting

Thursday, March 16, 2023
Article Picture
Photo Credit: Jeff Thiebauth
Top: Hon. Geraldine S. Hines (ret.) (left), receives the Great Friend of Justice Award from MBF President Angela C. McConney.

Middle: Members of the MBF Board of Trustees with Hon. Geraldine S. Hines (ret.).

Bottom: Hon. Peter W. Agnes Jr. of Flaschner Judicial Institute.

Last Thursday, March 9, the Massachusetts Bar Foundation held its Annual Meeting at Suffolk University Law School. 

This year’s Great Friend of Justice Award was presented to Hon. Geraldine S. Hines, former associate justice of the Supreme Judicial Court, who also delivered the evening’s keynote address. Additional highlights from the event included remarks delivered by Hon. Peter W. Agnes Jr. of Flaschner Judicial Institute, who spoke about the long-standing partnership between Flaschner and the Massachusetts Bar Foundation, and a welcome from Massachusetts Bar Association President Grace V.B. Garcia.

At the business meeting held that same evening, the MBF elected the following officers and trustees: 


  • President Angela C. McConney, Esq., Massachusetts Civil Service Commission
  • Vice President G. Perry Wu, Esq.
  • Treasurer Melissa Langa, Esq., Bove & Langa
  • Secretary Edward F. Dombroski, Jr., Esq., Travers Dombroski


  • Hon. Elspeth B. Cypher, Supreme Judicial Court
  • Patrick Francomano, Esq., Law Offices of Patrick Francomano
  • Michael J. Leard, Esq., Nutter
  • Kimberly E. Winter, Esq., McLaughlin, Richards, Biller, Schindel & Winter
  • G. Perry Wu., Esq.
The following new Life Fellows were recognized at the event. The MBF is grateful for their generous support of the foundation and its mission of increasing access to justice across the state.

President's Circle – Platinum Life Fellow*
Laurence M. Johnson, Esq.

President's Circle – Bronze Life Fellow*
Robert S. Molloy, Esq.

Oliver Wendell Holmes Life Fellows*
Miriam H. Babin, Esq.
Thomas M. Bond, Esq.
Dennis M. Lindgren, Esq.
G. Perry Wu, Esq.

Louis D. Brandeis Life Fellows*
Peter Benjamin, Esq.
Michael E. Mone, Jr., Esq.

Life Fellows
Emanuel Alves, Esq.
Michelle Bugbee, Esq.
Jennifer K. Dieringer, Esq.
Elizabeth G. Dineen, Esq.
Audrey M. Donovan, Esq.
Maureen L. Reilly, Esq.
Bernadette Stark, Esq.
Damian J. Turco, Esq.

*In accordance with the Massachusetts Code of Judicial Conduct, this list does not indicate the Lead Fellow status of judges.

AM Sponsor poster to print