News from the courts/agencies

Thursday, Feb. 11, 2016
Judge Henry Boroff to retire; Bankruptcy Merit Selection Panel appointed
Article Picture

Due to the retirement announcement of the Hon. Henry J. Boroff, Chief Judge Jeffrey R. Howard of the United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit has announced the formation of a Bankruptcy Merit Selection Panel to screen and review applicants for the resulting bankruptcy judgeship vacancy in Springfield. Judge Boroff, who has served as a bankruptcy judge in the District of Massachusetts in Springfield since 1993, will retire effective July 15, 2016.

Under the statute providing for the appointment of bankruptcy judges, 28 U.S.C. § 152, the courts of appeals, assisted by the circuit councils, have the duty of filling vacancies on the bankruptcy court in each circuit. The Merit Selection Panel will recommend to the circuit council and to the Court of Appeals, individuals whose character, experience, and commitment to equal justice under the law fully qualify them to serve as United States Bankruptcy Judges. Bankruptcy judges are appointed to 14-year terms by the Court of Appeals.

Circuit Judge David J. Barron of the United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit will serve as chair of the panel. Other members include: Judge Norman H. Stahl, United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit; Judge Mark G. Mastroianni, United States District Court for the District of Massachusetts; Jeanne P. Darcey, Esq., Sullivan & Worcester, Boston; Christine E. Devine, Esq., Mirick O'Connell, Worcester; Christina M. Turgeon, Springfield; and Susan J. Goldberg, circuit executive. Chief Judge Howard expressed his gratitude to members of the panel for their valuable assistance.

The court is seeking attorneys with demonstrated excellence in the practice of bankruptcy law and/or commercial litigation. Interested applicants may obtain an application from the Circuit Executive's Office, from the Bankruptcy Court clerk for the District of Massachusetts, or by accessing the Court of Appeals' website. Applicants should submit seven copies of their applications to: Susan J. Goldberg, circuit executive, Office of the Circuit Executive, John Joseph Moakley U.S. Courthouse, 1 Courthouse Way, Suite 3700, Boston, MA 02210. Applications are to be received no later than February 26.