MBA honors nine attorneys and one law firm with Access to Justice Awards

Thursday, June 15, 2023
Article Picture
Photo Credit: Jeff Thiebauth
Top: Front row, from left: MBA President Grace V.B. Garcia; Race, Equity and Inclusion Award winner Shayla Mombeleur; Pro Bono Publico Award winner Jerry Cohen; Lifetime Achievement Award winner Maribeth Perry; Lifetime Achievement Award winner Susan Nagl; and Lifetime Achievement Award winner John J. Carroll Jr. Back row, from left: Rising Star Award winner Alissa Weinberger; Legal Services Award winner Emily Leung; Prosecutor Award winner Marc F. Tohme; and David Himelfarb of Pro Bono Award for Law Firms winner McCarter & English LLP. Not pictured: Defender Award winner Carolyn I. McGowan.

Middle: MBA President Grace V.B. Garcia gives welcome remarks.

Bottom: Senate President Karen E. Spilka delivers the keynote address.

The Massachusetts Bar Association honored nine attorneys and one law firm during the 2023 Access to Justice Awards Celebration on June 8 at the Sheraton Framingham. 

The event featured a keynote address by Senate President Karen E. Spilka, herself a champion of access to justice, who provided an overview of the Legislature's current budgetary priorities and important measures passed during previous sessions. In particular, she highlighted ongoing efforts to increase educational opportunities for residents of the commonwealth, raise the age of Juvenile Court jurisdiction, and improve accountability and fairness in policing.

Thank you to our Signature Sponsor, Meehan, Boyle, Black & Bogdanow PC, and Patron Sponsors Burns & Levinson LLP, Kenney & Conley PC, the Massachusetts Bar Foundation and Todd & Weld LLP.

Click here to view event photos by Jeff Thiebauth. 

Congratulations to the 2023 Access to Justice Award winners:

Legal Services Award: Emily Leung, Justice Center of Southeast Massachusetts, Brockton 

Rising Star Award: Alissa Weinberger, MetroWest Legal Services, Framingham

Pro Bono Publico Award: Jerry Cohen, Burns & Levinson LLP, Boston 

Pro Bono Award for Law Firms: McCarter & English LLP, Boston

Prosecutor Award: Marc F. Tohme, Suffolk County District Attorney's Office, Boston

Defender Award: Carolyn I. McGowan, Committee for Public Counsel Services, Malden

Race, Equity and Inclusion Award: Shayla Mombeleur, Todd & Weld LLP, Boston

Lifetime Achievement Award: John J. Carroll Jr., Meehan, Boyle, Black and Bogdanow PC, Boston

Lifetime Achievement Award: Susan Nagl, South Coastal Counties Legal Services, Fall River

Lifetime Achievement Award: Maribeth Perry, Lawyers Clearinghouse, Boston