MBA honors volunteers, 50-year members at dinner

Thursday, Aug. 16, 2018
Article Picture
Photo Credit: Jeff Thiebauth
The MBA honored its 50-year members at the Aug. 8 Volunteer Recognition Dinner.

The Massachusetts Bar Association presented several awards and saluted its 50-year members at the MBA Volunteer Recognition Dinner at Lombardo's in Randolph on Aug. 8. 

Following a cocktail reception, MBA President Christopher P. Sullivan and President-elect Christopher A. Kenney teamed up to present the evening’s first awards when they honored five of the MBA’s 50-year members who were in attendance — “the wisest among our profession,” said Sullivan. Calling them up to the front of the room, the officers presented plaques to Frank J. Chiara Jr., Hon. John P. Connor (Ret.), Hon. Lance J. Garth (Ret.), Hon. Joel B. Rosenthal (Ret.) and Harvey Weiner, the current president of the Massachusetts Bar Foundation.

Based on recommendations from the MBA's Volunteer Recognition Committee, the MBA officers also voted to present Volunteer Recognition Awards to four attorneys for their substantial contributions to the MBA. Grace V.B. Garcia, chair of the MBA’s Volunteer Recognition Committee and incoming MBA secretary, presented the 2018 awards to Jason E. Armiger, Richard W. Cole, Hon. Rudolph Kass (Ret.) and Meghan H. Slack. MBA Young Lawyers Division Chair Samuel A. Segal then presented the Outstanding Young Lawyer Award to Shain M. Neumeier. Read more about the honorees here.

The MBA would like to thank the members of our Volunteer Recognition Committee for their help on this important annual event: Grace V. B. Garcia, chair and incoming MBA secretary; MBA Secretary Hon. Thomas J. Barbar; Jayne Tyrrell; Kevin Diamond; Ed Pikula; Jennifer Clapp; MBA Senior Programs Manager Marc D’Antonio; and MBA Director of Community and Public Services Beth O'Neil.

Click here to view photos from the Volunteer Recognition Dinner, including the cocktail reception.