News from the courts/agencies

Thursday, May. 26, 2016
Rules Advisory Committee selected for the U.S. Court of Appeals for the First Circuit
Article Picture

Chief Judge Jeffrey R. Howard of the United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit has announced that three new members were appointed to the Court's Rules Advisory Committee: E. Abim Thomas of Massachusetts, Gustavo Gelpi, Sr. of Puerto Rico, and Donald C. Lockhart of Rhode Island. Attorneys Thomas, Gelpi, and Lockhart will be replacing retiring members Heidi Nadel of Massachusetts, Ricardo Casellas of Puerto Rico, and Lynette Labinger of Rhode Island. Attorney Lockhart will also serve as the new chairperson for the committee, replacing outgoing chairperson Ricardo Casellas.

Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2077, the new members were selected to the committee to make recommendations regarding the rules of practice and internal operating procedures for the First Circuit Court of Appeals and the First Circuit Judicial Council. Chief Judge Howard thanked the retiring members for their commendable service and welcomed the new members.