Volunteers, 50-year members recognized at dinner

Thursday, Jul. 30, 2015
Article Picture
Top (from left): MBA President-elect Robert W. Harnais; MBA Secretary Christopher P. Sullivan; MBA Volunteer Recognition Committee Chair Grace Garcia; MBA Volunteer Award Honorees Melissa A. Conner, Peter T. Elikann, Lisa M. Rico and Damian J. Turco; and MBA Vice President Christopher A. Kenney. Middle: (from left): MBA Young Lawyers Division Chair Courtney Shea, Outstanding Young Lawyer Awardee Mina S. Makarious and Harnais. Bottom (from left): Harnais, Sullivan and Kenney present awards to MBA members in recognition of their 50 years of service to the Massachusetts bar. Photos by Eric Haynes.

The Massachusetts Bar Association recognized many of the volunteers who made this year's MBA programs and events possible at a Volunteer Recognition Dinner on July 22, which also honored some of the MBA's longest-serving members. More than 100 people attended the reception and dinner, which was held at Lombardo's in Randolph.

Following a reception, President-elect Robert W. Harnais welcomed attendees to the dinner on behalf of his fellow officers. "I want to let all of you know we realize it takes careful coordination to carve out hours for bar involvement," said Harnais. "We realize time spent on MBA initiatives competes with time with family and friends, and professional and personal commitments. We appreciate you keeping your MBA volunteerism high on your list of priorities."

As described in the July Lawyers Journal, four members received the MBA's Volunteer Recognition Award in honor of their outstanding service over the past MBA year: Melissa A. Conner, Peter T. Elikann, Lisa M. Rico and Damian J. Turco. In addition, Mina S. Makarious received the Outstanding Young Lawyer Award, which is given to a young lawyer who has demonstrated outstanding character, leadership and legal achievement, and has contributed service to the community.

Keeping with the MBA's annual tradition, MBA Vice President Christopher A. Kenney and MBA Secretary Christopher P. Sullivan also recognized members who are celebrating 50 years of service to the Massachusetts bar, including:

  • Herbert Pitta Jr.
  • George M. Ford
  • Charles W. Long
  • Philip H. Macchi
  • James W. Gilden
  • Ira M. Shoolman
  • Donald H. Katz
  • Thomas J. Carey

Harnais thanked Volunteer Recognition Committee Chair Grace Garcia and the other members of her committee, including MBA Treasurer Jeff Catalano, Kevin Diamond and Edward Pikula, for their efforts in preparation for this annual dinner. "I was also a member of this committee this year, and I can tell you that we had a very difficult task in selecting our volunteer honorees for this evening," Harnais said. "There are so many of you who do outstanding work on behalf of the MBA."