Judges honored for leadership, judicial excellence

Thursday, Nov. 21, 2013
Article Picture
Top (from left): Massachusetts Judges Conference President Juvenile Court Judge James G. Collins, Former Attorney General Francis X. Bellotti, MBA President Douglas K. Sheff and Boston Municipal Court Justice Thomas C. Horgan Middle (from left): Collins, Judicial Excellence Award Recipient Housing Court First Justice Dina E. Fein, President's Award recipient Supreme Judicial Court Chief Justice Roderick L. Ireland, Nominating Committee Chair and Housing Court Judge Robert G. Fields and Program Chair Judge Michael C. Lauranzano Bottom (from left): MBA Chief Legal Counsel and Chief Operating Officer Martin W. Healy, Collins and Horgan Top and bottom photos courtesy of Douglas K. Sheff. Middle photo by Susan Ogan, MarbleRosePhotography, copyright 2013.

Supreme Judicial Court Chief Justice Roderick L. Ireland and eight additional judges were honored at the Massachusetts Judges Conference Annual Meeting in November.

At the meeting, Ireland received the President's Award for his leadership of the judiciary. Eight judges also received Judicial Excellence Awards for their demonstrated commitment to judicial excellence, leadership qualities on and off the bench, and ability to maintain the highest professional and ethical standards of the profession.

Judicial excellence awards were presented to:

  • Hon. Terry M. Craven, First Justice, Boston Juvenile Court
  • Hon. Joseph I. Dever (ret.), Former First Justice, Lynn District Court
  • Hon. Judith Fabricant, Associate Justice, Superior Court
  • Hon. Dina E. Fein, First Justice, Western Division, Housing Court
  • Hon. Ellen Flatley, Associate Justice, Lynn District Court
  • Hon. Mary Anne Sahagian, First Justice, Essex Probate and Family Court
  • Hon. Mitchell J. Sikora Jr., Associate Justice, Appeals Court
  • Hon. Robert N. Tochka, First Justice, Boston Municipal Court, Dorchester Division

The Massachusetts Judges Conference aims to provide an independent voice on behalf of judges, works to advance the interests of judges and promotes the professional development of judges to promote public confidence in the courts, while preserving an independent judiciary and respect for the rule of law. The Judicial Excellence Awards were established in 1996 under the leadership of Probate and Family Court Judge and past Massachusetts Judges Conference President James Sweeney.