MBA honors volunteers, 50-year members

Thursday, Jul. 25, 2013
Article Picture
Top: The MBA highlighted the efforts of four volunteers with Volunteer Recognition Awards on July 18. From left to right: Volunteer Recognition Committee Chair Grace Garcia and Volunteer Recognition Award Honorees Thomas J. Barbar, David A. Parke, Jayne B. Tyrell and Timothy J. Dacey III. Bottom: The MBA honored members of the profession who have served for 50-years on July 18. Photos by Jeff Thiebauth.

The Massachusetts Bar Association celebrated the efforts of its volunteers at the July 18 Volunteer Recognition Dinner, held at Lombardo's in Randolph. Also recognized at the event, were the MBA's 50-year members.

"Tonight is an opportunity for the MBA to recognize all of you for your volunteer efforts, which allow the MBA to continue to deliver on our mission," MBA President Robert L. Holloway Jr. said. "Because of your contributions to our vibrant organization, the Massachusetts legal community as a whole is enhanced; the public are better served; and access to justice is better preserved for everyone."

The dinner honored the contributions of more than 100 volunteers who donated time to the MBA over the past year by serving on one of the association's section councils, committees or task forces.

The presentation of four MBA Volunteer Recognition Awards highlighted the work of individuals chosen from a pool of nominations. Grace Garcia, chair of the Volunteer Recognition Committee, presented the honors to the four awardees, which included:

Timothy J. Dacey III, Goulston & Storrs, Boston: Dacey has served on the MBA's Committee on Professional Ethics for 29 years and as vice-chair of the committee for 22. Dacey was recognized for his efforts in providing careful, informed ethical advice to attorneys who need a quick response.

David A. Parke, Bulkley, Richardson & Gelinas LLP, Springfield: Parke has tirelessly and enthusiastically served the MBA's Business Law Section Council for over a decade, in a number of important roles, most notably as a co-chair of the MBA's annual In-House Counsel Conference.

Thomas J. Barbar, Deutsch, Williams, Brooks, DeRensis & Holland PC, Boston: Barbar is an active MBA volunteer. In addition to serving as the MBA's Law Practice Management Section Council chair, Barbar has planned and spoken at many continuing legal education programs, has volunteered for the Dial-A-Lawyer program and was a mentor for the Tiered Community Mentoring Program for two years.

Jayne B. Tyrrell, Massachusetts IOLTA Committee, Boston: A longstanding MBA volunteer, Tyrrell has been involved with the association for more than 23 years and has served on the Housing Committee, Amicus Brief Committee, Lawyers in Transition Committee, Elder Law Committee and more. Tyrrell is dedicated to showcasing lawyers as they do work that supports our system of justice.

In addition to the Volunteer Recognition Awardees, the following 50-year honorees received their service plaques from Holloway and MBA President-elect Douglas K. Sheff:

  • Donald M. Bloch;
  • John E. Bradley;
  • William J. Dailey Jr.;
  • Jerome H. Fletcher;
  • Hon. Thayer Fremont-Smith;
  • Francis H. Fox;
  • Hon. Andre A. Gelinas;
  • Hon. John M. Greaney;
  • Daniel J. Johnedis;
  • Roger R. Lipson;
  • James J. McCusker;
  • David I. Shactman;
  • Myer R. Singer;
  • David Skeels; and
  • Richard J. Snyder.