Professionalism Course FAQs
1. What is the Practicing with Professionalism course?
The Supreme Judicial Court's Standing Advisory Committee on Professionalism is charged with implementing Rule 3:16. Effective Sept. 1, 2013, this rule mandates that all newly admitted Massachusetts attorneys complete within 18 months of their date of admission a one-day Practicing with Professionalism course in order to maintain their good standing at the bar
2. Am I required to take this course?
All persons newly licensed to practice law in Massachusetts on or after Sept. 1, 2013, are required to complete the one-day Practicing with Professionalism course.
3. How do I find my original admission date?
All licensed attorneys in Massachusetts can check the date of their admission to the bar at the Board of Bar Overseers' website.
4. Can I take any one of the Approved Provider's courses?
Yes, you may choose any one of the four Approved Providers
5. How do I register for the course?
Registering for the MBA's Practicing with Professionalism course is easy. Simply click here to register for any one of our seven courses offered statewide throughout 2018. No walk-ins will be accepted.
6. The course registration is $50. What is included in this fee?
- Program materials associated with the PWP course.
- Breakfast and lunch
- Record keeping and attendance reports to the Board of Bar Overseers will be handled by the Massachusetts Bar Association.
7. Must I attend in person?
Yes. The SJC mandates that all Practicing with Professionalism course attendees appear in person for the class. Please bring a photo ID and your bar card in order to be admitted and to receive your certificate of attendance.
8. How does the BBO know I've attended and completed the course?
The MBA will handle all your reporting requirements with the Board of Bar Overseers. Once you successfully complete our Practicing with Professionalism course, we do the rest.