Lawyers e-Journal

Thursday, Jan. 24, 2008
Image for Diversity task force
Photograph by Jeff Thiebauth
The members of the Diversity Think Tank assemble before last week's annual meeting. See the full article for a list of attending members.

Esteemed leaders advise MBA’s Diversity Task Force

The Diversity Think Tank/Strategic Planning Group, an advisory group to the MBA’s Diversity Task Force, assembled last Thursday, January 17 at the MBA Boston headquarters. The group meets annually to advise the task force on relevant issues related to diversity in the legal profession.


Much of Thursday evening’s discussion centered on developing ways to increase representation of people with diverse backgrounds at every level: in the pipeline coming into the legal profession, in the general membership of the MBA and in MBA leadership positions.  The dinner guests also explored methods to identify the demographic composition of the profession. Another topic of discussion was different opportunities to partner with minority bar associations across the commonwealth.


Task Force Co-chair and MBA Treasurer Valerie A. Yarashus updated the Think Tank on the Diversity Essay Scholarship program, which will involve reaching out to diverse groups of youth across the Bay State. She also reported on the new Monthly Leadership Roundtables, which are open to officers, members of the Executive Management Board, Section Council Chairs and members of the Diversity Task Force.


Attending Thursday’s meeting were: 


Back row, left to right:

Edward W. McIntyre, Esq.
MBA President-elect, Law Offices of Edward W. McIntyre, Clinton

Hon. Charles R. Johnson
Chief Justice, Boston Municipal Court

Hon. Wilbur P. Edwards Jr.
Associate Justice, Housing Court Department, Southeastern Division

David W. White Jr., Esq.
MBA president, Breakstone, White & Gluck PC, Boston

Hon. R. Malcolm Graham
Associate Justice, Appeals Court

Charles P. Wagner, Esq.
Siegel, Wagner & Swartz LLC, Boston

Hon. Julian T. Houston (ret.)
Associate Justice, Superior Court

John N. Affuso Jr., Esq.
Massachusetts Port Authority, Boston

Denise Squillante, Esq.
MBA vice president, Law Office of Denise Squillante, Fall River

Hon. Angela Ordoñez
Associate Justice, Norfolk Probate and Family Court

Michael S. Greco, Esq.
ABA and MBA past president, Kirkpatrick and Lockhart, Preston, Gates, Ellis LLP, Boston

Front row, left to right:

Hon. Leslie E. Harris
Associate Justice, Suffolk County Juvenile Court

Hon. Roderick L. Ireland
Associate Justice, Supreme Judicial Court

Valerie A. Yarashus
MBA treasurer, Sugarman & Sugarman PC, Boston

Wayne A. Budd, Esq.
MBA past president, Goodwin Procter LLP, Boston

Hon. Barbara Dortch-Okara
Associate Justice, Superior Court

©2017 Massachusetts Bar Association